So who are we?

A place to hang out and chat about whatever
Bryan Moore
Captain
Captain

So who are we?

Post by Bryan Moore »

I'll start with the introductions. Feel free to respond with as much or little information about yourselves as you wish.

I'm Bryan Moore (obviously).

I'm 24, from Enfield, Connecticut, USA. I'm a social studies teacher with a Bachelor of Arts in US History and am about to finish Masters of Science in Education. This coming year I'll be teaching global studies to 9th graders, US History to 11th graders, and contemporary issues (a.k.a. How We Farked up in Iraq: 101) to a class of seniors.

Why do I like Star Trek? I grew up on it, watching the Original Series and first few movies on TV with my dad at a very young age. I can vividly remember watching the premiere of TNG a few months before my 5th birthday. I could go on for paragraphs, but I love the themes behind Star Trek, the messages it sends, and the intricacy of its universe. The technology and exploration had always appealed to me. Moreover, the socio-political messages I find to be so wonderfully connected to real life that it constantly makes me appreciate social studies so much more.

Outside of the Trek universe and teaching, I spend a lot of my time in the gym, playing guitar, brewing/reviewing/collecting various craft beers, and spending time with my college fraternity.

As Stephen Hawking would say, thats my univers in a nutshell. What about you all?
Don't you hear my call, though you're many years away, don't you hear me calling you?
The Wormhole
Ensign
Ensign

Post by The Wormhole »

I'm 22, live in Canada, and work at a local grocery store. I've watched Star Trek since I was 8. Started with TNG, then moved on to TOS and DS9. Then Voyager when it premiered, and eventually Enterprise.

I'm a bit of a sci-fi geek. In additon to Trek I also watch the Stargates, new Battlestar Galactica, Doctor Who and I enjoy the Star Wars movies. I also enjoy reading the Dune novels.