of klingon design....

The Original Series
Granitehewer
Captain
Captain

of klingon design....

Post by Granitehewer »

Hey guys
i'm here to vent as this issue keeps bugging me, well the issue per se doesn't but the vehement reaction of one of my friends' does...and since i'm about the biggest 'trek novice here and regard everyone on here as personal friends, i hoped to seek peoples' opinions on the matter.
In TOS 'The Enterprise Incident', Spock mentions that starfleet intelligence reports that the romulans are ''now using vessels of klingon design''.
i assumed like the peoples' republic of china, tito's yugoslavia and a myriad of other nations from pakistan to malaysia, that the klingons like the soviets/federal russians, granted their ''allies'' (in the case of 'trek, the romulans), licences to produce their own indigenous versions of certain vehicles, via supplying the licenced schematics or a few physical examples for reverse engineering, rather than actually supply a substantial number.
My mate, having like me read, the non-cannon ''The Rihannsu'' and the star trek encyclopaedia now adamantly informs me that those vessels were purchased off the klingon government, is there any cannon supporting this?
Ps does anyone think that the romulans could have rearmed the klingon vessels with romulan weapons eg plasma torpedos and kept them as counter-insurgency vessels or to patrol backwaters in decades ahead, a bit like the wehrmacht and soviets using captured/obselete tanks for anti-partisan policing?
PTLLS (Tees Achieve), DipHE App Bio (Northumbria), BSc Psychology (Teesside), Comparative Planetology (LJMU), High Energy Astrophysics (LJMU), Mobile Robotics/Physics (Swinburne), Genetics (SAC), Quant Meths (SAC)
https://www.facebook.com/PeterBrayshay
Lazar
Captain
Captain

Re: of klingon design....

Post by Lazar »

AFAIK we just have Spock's line, and anything else would be conjecture.
"There was also a large horse in the room, taking up most of it."
Mark