Babylon 5 cutaway!!!

Re: Babylon 5 cutaway!!!

Postby McAvoy » Tue Jul 21, 2015 7:24 pm

Graham Kennedy wrote:Stationary compared to what?

If it was stationary compared to the planet, it would fall into it.


Isn't there a thing where the jump gates have to be stationary otherwise it screws up the beacons in hyperspace?
"Don't underestimate the power of technobabble: the Federation can win anything with the sheer force of bullshit"
User avatar
McAvoy
Rear Admiral
Rear Admiral
 
Posts: 5112
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 1:39 am
Location: East Windsor, NJ

Re: Babylon 5 cutaway!!!

Postby Graham Kennedy » Tue Jul 21, 2015 8:03 pm

No idea.

But again, there's no such thing as stationary. There's only stationary compared to X.
Give a man a fire, and you keep him warm for a day. SET a man on fire, and you will keep him warm for the rest of his life...
User avatar
Graham Kennedy
Site Admin
Site Admin
 
Posts: 10989
Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2007 1:28 pm
Location: Banbury, UK

Re: Babylon 5 cutaway!!!

Postby McAvoy » Tue Jul 21, 2015 9:22 pm

Well I know the destruction of one will screw up the network.

I suppose as long as it's in a general area like in orbit around a planet the beacons can lock on.
"Don't underestimate the power of technobabble: the Federation can win anything with the sheer force of bullshit"
User avatar
McAvoy
Rear Admiral
Rear Admiral
 
Posts: 5112
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 1:39 am
Location: East Windsor, NJ

Re: Babylon 5 cutaway!!!

Postby Jim » Wed Jul 22, 2015 11:05 am

In Stargate it didn't matter that a planet was orbiting, the system still worked. So it is probably something like that. Yes, the distance from one side of a planet's orbit to the other is huge in one perspective... but compared to interstellar travel it is nothing.
Ugh... do not thump the Book of G'Quan...
User avatar
Jim
Captain
Captain
 
Posts: 1906
Joined: Wed Oct 10, 2007 1:32 pm
Location: Pittsburgh

Previous

Return to Babylon 5

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron