Is this article just a tad optimistic?

LaughingCheese
Lieutenant Commander
Lieutenant Commander

Is this article just a tad optimistic?

Post by LaughingCheese »

http://www.bis-space.com/2013/05/16/105 ... dy-project

I'm no expert but really?? Somehow I doubt we already have the technology to put millions of people into space colonies at L4 and L5.

Perhaps someone can enlighten me?
Griffin
Commander
Commander

Re: Is this article just a tad optimistic?

Post by Griffin »

Far to drunk to look at it from a science perspective (and even then it's probably out of my league), but the thing I wonder about is, is there a million people willing to live on such a thing?
Bite my shiny metal ass
McAvoy
Rear Admiral
Rear Admiral

Post by McAvoy »

Getting into space is still a problem something that prevents the average person from even going up now. I doubt until we figure a cheap and effective way of going into orbit, space will only be accessible by the elite.
"Don't underestimate the power of technobabble: the Federation can win anything with the sheer force of bullshit"
Mikey
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Commendations: The Daystrom Award

Post by Mikey »

I think we should perhaps see how the next gen orbit-lifters work out, THEN look toward orbital habitats.
I can't stand nothing dull
I got the high gloss luster
I'll massacre your ass as fast
as Bull offed Custer
Tyyr
3 Star Admiral
3 Star Admiral

Post by Tyyr »

Here's the problem, are large space habitat's theoretically possible with current technology? Yes. Are they possible given today's infrastructure? Not even remotely.