Page out of my book

Show us your fanfic, original stories, poems, etc
Monroe
Rear Admiral
Rear Admiral

Page out of my book

Post by Monroe »

This is a book I've been working on for over three years, and unlike some people (thinking of a certain family member of mine) who start a book and then work on it for 15 years and get no where my older brother and I have progressed nonstop the three years.

--------------------------------------------------

Don't worry there's like 60 pages of character development before this. I can't go into too much detail on it yet but since there's nothing really fancy about a battle I figured I'd post and see what you guys think.
Last edited by Monroe on Thu Jun 03, 2010 7:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Mikey
Fleet Admiral
Fleet Admiral
Commendations: The Daystrom Award

Post by Mikey »

Hmm... very vivid - in a good way. You mentioned "Greek" for Okin - but, despite the Gallic names, I would have guessed Roman, becuase nobody else used a pilum, as you described here:
the soft metal of the spear shaft bent in a way that drugged the shield down into a unwieldy device causing the men to soon discard it.
And you mention "knights," which implies equestrian troops, but neither Greeks nor Romans used cavalry much - the Romans had a small cavalry force, but it was certainly not a main battle force. I may be taking the idea that you based your cultures on real-world examples too far or too literally, however.

All in all, after reading this, I'd certainly be willing to read more. Trust me - from me, that's a high compliment.
I can't stand nothing dull
I got the high gloss luster
I'll massacre your ass as fast
as Bull offed Custer
Deepcrush
4 Star Admiral
4 Star Admiral

Post by Deepcrush »

I love it! But I do love the bloodshed for most everything! You have peaked my interest.
Jinsei wa cho no yume, shi no tsubasa no bitodesu
Monroe
Rear Admiral
Rear Admiral

Post by Monroe »